Today's Date:
Board Meetings
          Board Members
          Licensee Lookup
          Licensure with the Board
          Applications and Forms
          Renew Your License
          Change Your Address
          Application status
          Print copy of your license
          Online Transfer
          Laws and Policies
          Publications / News
          FOIA Requests
          Related Links
Complaints / Board Orders
          File a Complaint
          Board Orders
          What can I expect when a complaint
          is filed against me?
Contact Us
        Board Phone:(803) 896-4400
        Administrator:Rod Atkinson
        Board Staff:William B. Tiller, Education
        Advice Counsel:   Georgia Lewis   **
        Directions:110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC

**The Office of Advice Counsel is responsible for
providing legal advice to all Boards, Commissions
and Panels. These attorneys do not provide legal
advice to parties outside LLR.

South Carolina Real Estate Commission

Online Salesman Broker Instructions

Online applicants:

Having the following information will expedite the application process.

  • You will have the opportunity to upload required and optional documentation. (School Certificate, if licensed in another state a Certificate of Licensure, explanation to any adverse answers concerning criminal conviction(s), liens, judgments, etc.)
  • You can pay with Visa, MasterCard, or Online Check.

The following applications may be processed online:

  • Provisional Salesman Exam Application (For Initial License Only)
  • Salesman Exam Application (For Initial License Only)
  • Broker's Exam Application (For Initial Broker's License Only)
  • Property Manager Exam Application (For Initial PM License Only)

The requirements below are outlined for you to make sure you meet the qualifications for licensure. All application fees are non-refundable.

Licensure Requirements
Read this information and refer to the License Law thoroughly before calling our office for further information.



Individuals must have attained the age of 18 to be licensed as a salesman and have attained the age of 21 to be licensed as a broker.


A prospective licensee must be a high school graduate or hold a certificate of equivalency.

I. Sales license applicants - completion of a Commission-approved 60-hour Unit I Sales  Course in the fundamentals of real estate. Within one year after passing the examination, the applicant must apply for a provisional sales license. During the first year of licensure, provisional salespersons must complete an additional 30 hours of Commission-approved post licensing education. To upgrade a provisional license to permanent status, proof of the post licensing (PL 1-5) courses, application, and fee of $25 must be sent to the Real Estate Commission FAILURE TO MEET THESE REQUIREMENTS WILL RESULT IN THE CANCELLATION OF THE PROVISIONAL SALES LICENSE.

II. For a broker's license, completion of 150 hours, 90 hours of which may be the hours required for a salesperson's license, 60 hours of broker courses (Broker Unit III A & B) consisting of classroom instruction in advanced real estate principles and practices, and three years of experience within the past five years with a salesman's license. Additional acceptable criteria is evidence submitted to the Department of a Juris Doctor, Bachelor of Laws degree, or a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate from an accredited college or university.

There is no license experience requirement for a sales examination.
For the broker's examination the law requires three or more years of active licensure within the last five years preceding application. To receive recognition for out-of-state experience, the applicant must obtain a Certification of Licensure, including history, education, and disciplinary action from the state real estate regulatory agency(s) where the applicant is or has been licensed.

Examinations are scheduled accordingly Monday through Saturday in Beaufort, Charleston, Columbia, Greenville, Myrtle Beach, S.C., and in Charlotte, NC.  PSI is the examination provider for the Commission and they publish a Candidate Information Bulletin for approved candidates for the real estate examinations.  Candidates receive a link to this bulletin when they receive the examination eligibility letter from the Commission.  Examinees must receive a passing score on both portions of the exam (general and state) prior to applying for the appropriate real estate license.  Retesting may be scheduled accordingly with PSI if one or both portions of the examination are failed.


I. Credit Report - Applicants must submit to a credit report which shall indicate creditworthiness satisfactory to the Commission.

II. Commission Review - Any applicant who has been convicted of a crime or sanctioned by any licensing agency or has adverse items on a credit report must reveal that fact on their application. The Commission may review the application of an individual and then conduct an investigation which may result in a delay in processing time of scheduling the examination application.

III. Processing Fees - Upon initial application, an individual must pay the following fees:       

1. Sales - $25 (plus $10 for a credit report). After passing the examination, applicants must pay a license fee of $25 and to upgrade from provisional status, a fee of $25. (Individuals not receiving a provisional license but, receiving a permanent sales license will pay a $50 fee for a two-year license.)

2. Broker - $25 (plus $10 for a credit report). After passing the examination, applicants must submit a separate two-year licensing fee of $250 for a broker-in-charge license or $125 for a broker license. (If the licensee is currently a salesperson a $25 upgrade fee is the only payment due. The expiration date on your current license will not change.)
PSI's examination fee is $63. (Paid directly to PSI at time of registration)

IV. Criminal Background Check - All applicants are required to obtain a criminal background report from and upload a copy with your application.


All applicants (except residents of Georgia, and West Virginia, see "Nonresidents" below) must meet the requirements outlined previously for residents as to age, education, and experience.

Applicants who are actively licensed in another state may exempt the general portion of the license examination and sit for the State portion of the applicable South Carolina Real Estate Examination. Those individuals must also submit with the application a Certification of Licensure, including history, education, and disciplinary action from each state in which they have or held a real estate license.

NONRESIDENTS - Residents of Georgia, and West Virginia are subject to Reciprocal Agreements in existence between South Carolina and these three states. These agreements apply to persons who do not intend to move to South Carolina prior to licensure and also address requirements for those moving here following reciprocal licensing. Anyone falling into this category should view the requirements under the Online Reciprocal Application section.   

Online Application Login

* Download Online Application Form

Back to Application Options

Synergy Business Park; Kingstree Building
110 Centerview Dr.
Columbia, S.C. 29210
(803) 896-4300 | Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.- 5:00 p.m.

Directions | Site Map | Privacy | Disclaimer | Customer Satisfaction Survey | Contact Us | Other Languages
Report State Agency Fraud (Office of the Inspector General)

The S.C. Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation is pleased to provide various publications in portable document format (PDF).
You will need Adobe Reader to view and print these publications.